Writing

Pressure to Post

ImageLet’s be honest, it’s been a long time since I have written a post.  I think I lost my muse somewhere back in September.  It probably happened at the very moment I said (out loud), “I’m going to write a book while the kids are in the school.”  Yeah, right.  Un-hunh.  It’s now the end of 2012 and I have written precisely one travel blog post, and have not started anything else.  You’d think that I could have at least penciled out a poem (even a rhyming one, for Pete’s sake), but I had nothing to say.  Nada.

Today is a slightly different story in that something has been bothering me.  It’s a friend’s actions that has boggled my mind.  This woman is someone I respect, admire, and wanted to be like her one day but now I’m not so sure.

The pressure to post must have gotten to her to have done what she did.  Or maybe I’m just too much of a blog posting newbie.  Maybe this kind of thing happens all the time in the big blog world and I just didn’t know.  You tell me.

I read a topic sentence of a blog that was posted by a friend on Facebook.  The topic sentence caught my eye and I made a mental note to go back and read the blog because it sounded interesting; however, before I could do that, the lady I admire created a post about the very same topic.  She’s a clever writer, so I read her post, scanning the piece for a link back to the other blog that obviously gave her the idea for her blog, but nothing was there.

And this is not the first time.  This is at least her second time that I know of, and if there’s a first and a second, wouldn’t you imagine there have been more?

Maybe she was having a bit of a writer’s block like me, but I chose to let my blog sit empty and quiet while she filled hers with others’ ideas.

I must admit that there’s less golden glitter on this author’s crown for me.  I understand pressure, but I also understand that there’s a right way to give another credit for her ideas.

What do you think?  Does this kind of thing happen all the time and I am unaware?  I won’t confront her because it’s not my style, but I will vote on her actions with the almighty unsubscribe button.

6 thoughts on “Pressure to Post

  1. I consider it a compliment and a success when someone pushes my ideas forward, whether credited or uncredited. Now, if someone copied my text word for word and called it their own, it would tick me off. But, it is the wild wild web… in all it’s lawless glory.

    1. I never thought about it that way “pushing my idea forward,” but what if the person simply took your topic without presenting anything new? How about if the person simply wrote on your topic as if it were their own?

      I have no problem with writing prompts. Heck, I have used them from Plinky Prompts but the site takes credit, as it should.

      Perhaps I just thought this person would never run out of ideas and that is an unrealistic assumption on my part.

      1. I have had this conversation before with another blogger and I absolutely agree that crediting is the right thing to do and passing off ideas as your own is not cool.

        Does ripping off ideas happen? Yes. Will it continue to happen? Yes. Will people you believe in and respect do it? Yes. Do you have to be a part of it or be okay with it? No.

        I purge people sometimes who I do not agree with, who piss me off, who hold beliefs that I find offensive, who I lose respect for (usually because they have shown disrespect in some way), and the like.

        If your feelings about situations like this lead you to unsubscribe or unfollow or unfriend than that is the right thing for you to do.

      2. Thank you for that vote of confidence! I will definitely hit the unsubscribe button without regret.

        Happy New Year to you!! Thank you for reading my post 🙂

  2. My blog is called Grammar Parrot, but I often can’t think of a grammar or writing topic that is fresh. I mean how many blog articles have you read complaining about “your vs. you’re”? So I just write about whatever pops into my head that I can write 200 or so words about, which is more often than not not grammar or writing. (And often results in nothing posted in a while.) Comfort yourself with “great minds think alike” or “the finest form of flattery” or whatever. Hey, if nothing else, it gave you a topic for that day! Plus the chances of the same person reading both articles on the same day, or even in the same month, are slim.

  3. I will have to check your blog out, Karla. I cannot imagine having to come up with a fresh angle on you’re vs. your, to/too/two, its and its — it would drive me crazy racking my brain trying to come up with a new post especially over the course of years.

    It was probably just my dumb luck to see two of the same posts on the same day. The idea the original author had was a good one (I had even thought of it myself), and it was an easy post to write. Nowadays, easy appears to be the new hard. I didn’t follow through on writing a post because it was Christmastime, I had 40 thousand presents still to buy, a menu to plan, and many other things “more important,” so I didn’t write it.

    The thing that bothers me is just the lack of giving another person credit for their idea–that’s all.

    I realize that many people have similar lives, and many things that are interesting to me will be interesting to people like me, so topics will overlap. But just take a minute and thank your inspiration whether it’s another blogger, your kid, your spouse, something you read in the newspaper, or a Facebook post. It’s a sign of respect for the person as well as oneself.

Leave a Reply

