Life path · Opinion Piece · Weight Loss

What I’ve Noticed Today is…

What I’ve noticed today is that many people want to lose weight but they don’t want to do the hard work to be successful.  And trust me, I know how hard it is to lose weight.  I have lost weight, gained it all back, lost it again, and gained it all back numerous times.  Last year I had an even harder time because my thyroid was all messed up.  It had a virus which made me have a fast thyroid one day, and a painfully slow one the next.   I was almost relieved there was a problem with my thyroid because I literally did everything right to lose weight and I didn’t lose a single pound for months.  Talk about discouraging.

But there are people who have asked me what I’ve done to lose weight recently, and after I tell them, they say, “Oh, I couldn’t do that.”

How do you know if you don’t even try?  I never thought I was a runner, but last week I tried it out and I did okay.  I won’t be doing any marathons anytime soon but it turns out that if I put one foot in front of the other and move them rapidly, I am a runner.

Go figure.

If you want to lose weight, it will take a lot of work.  It will be much, much harder than the gaining weight part, and far less enjoyable.  I think I’ve stated the obvious, but it’s what I’ve noticed today.  Lots of people want to know what I’m doing to lose weight but then are not willing to follow my lead.

Leave a Reply

