Children · Facebook · Opinion Piece · Thanksgiving

A New Look at the Thanksgiving Posts

Pearl's Tongue at 5:30 in the Morning
Pearl’s Tongue at 5:30 in the Morning

I want to be honest here and say that the posts some of my friends are writing on Facebook in anticipation of Thanksgiving is bugging me.  For example, Day One:  I am so thankful for my amazing husband who puts up with all my stuff, and still manages to love me.”  Hmmm….I wonder if this person’s husband is doing a daily thanks journal on Facebook for her?  I sincerely doubt it.  None of the posters keeping a thankful log have been men on my feed.  I know they’re grateful, but I also know they’d probably lose their man card if they said anything other than, “That ref sucks!”

But I have to admit that the posts have got me thinking, and although I don’t have 28 things I’d like to share that I’m thankful about, I can say one, and I can say it with all sincerity.  I am thankful that digital cameras have become a part of daily life.  Taking pictures is no longer just for special occasions, it is for anything from selfies to a dog sleeping in an elf costume.

When I was young, you practically had to be all dressed up for someone to take your picture, or at the very least, doing something really amazing.  The pictures were more composed rather than spontaneous.

But all that has changed, and what I am most grateful for is the fact that my children can document their childhoods.  I am a terrible photographer, and I rarely remember the camera anyway.  Meanwhile, the girls take 100 pictures a day of anything and everything.  I love that I don’t have to yell, “You’re wasting the film!”

And the girls’ photos are really good.  I’m not just saying that because they’re my girls, but I am saying it because it’s true.  They certainly know their way around a digital device.  I don’t bring a camera anywhere anymore because I know they’ll do a better job capturing the experience.

I still don’t like the “what I’m grateful for” posts, but at least it’s got me thinking…

Leave a Reply

