Life path · Self Discovery · Writing

30 Posts in 30 Days Starting…Today

I read somewhere on a friend’s Facebook page that they were participating in a 30 blog posts in 30 days challenge.  Since I’ve failed to starting writing my book for the NaNoWriMo challenge at the start of the month, I figured I could do the blog post challenge.  That seemed a little more realistic to me.  At any rate, it appears that I am 17 days behind since it started on November 1st, but nobody said I couldn’t have my own challenge.  After all, writing 30 posts in 30 days would be an incredible challenge for me. Why?  It’s not that I don’t have anything to say, it’s that sometimes I overthink things and just never start.  I could write a blog post but listening to Dr. Greger’s video about preventing breast cancer seems far easier.  Or, I could write a blog post but checking in on my friends on Facebook is less work.

Am I lazy?  Not really.  I think it’s the perfectionism that holds me back.  Not that I think that any post I’ve created is perfect, it’s just that thinking it must be perfect paralyzes me, and I end up finding other activities I can do with great perfection like cleaning or organizing (or my version of perfection).

I’ve just brainstormed 11 ideas so I guess I’ve got 11 days covered.  What that means is that I only need to come up with 18 more which should be easy.

What I Hope to Gain From This Experience & Challenge

My main goal is to jumpstart my writing.  I’ve always said I wanted to write a book.  A psychic said that I have a book in me that will create a lot of talk and I will go on tour or something like that.  I can’t quite remember what she said, and I can’t ask her because she died suddenly a few days after my reading during a major blackout in San Diego.  What a devastating loss for those who loved and respected her abilities.

I feel that if I can get into the habit of writing at least 350 words per day that I will just keep going until I am confident enough to begin the book that I want to write.  And I don’t mean the how-to booklet I wrote this year, but a legitimate piece with a plot.

Wish me good luck and cheers to hoping it’s the cure for everything that ails me.

Leave a Reply

