Rants

Barking Dog Stops Only Neighbors from Sleeping

Since I am up anyway, I thought I’d get my daily blog post written and published.  After all, I’ve been awake since 2 a.m.  Fortunately, I went to bed at 10, so I’ve had a solid four hours of sleep.  Can you hear the sarcasm?  Good because it is going to be a looonnnnggg day.  Do I have insomnia?  Yes, but that wasn’t the problem this morning.  No, it was the neighbor’s dog barking for an hour, then stopping, then starting up again.

I didn’t know the neighbors got a dog…???

I got on my robe and went outside into the cool, clear night to investigate.  Living in California means that neighbors are very close.  My lot is 5000 square feet and so is the guy with the barking dog.  And for the sake of my East Coast friends and readers, a cool night means 52 degrees.  Brrr…..

The dog barking is definitely coming from my neighbor on the right.  I dragged a patio chair over to the fence to see what the deal is, and there’s no dog.  A machine is barking like a dog.  A machine.  

Normally, I don’t watch TV in my room at night, but last night was different.  For over two hours, a dog barked.  Yes, it was annoying but I figured that my neighbors in the other direction may have gone away for Thanksgiving, or perhaps they went out for the night.  No big deal, right?  Nobody around here lets their dog bark all night long so I figured my discomfort would be over with by midnight at the latest.  Fortunately, I fell asleep and assumed the neighbors had come home and all was right with the world.

Unfortunately, the dog barking must’ve been coming from the machine next door.  It sounds remarkably like the other neighbor’s dog, hence my confusion.  I missed the opportunity to talk to the neighbors then and now that it’s 4:16 a.m. and I’ve been awake for over two hours, I deeply regret that missed opportunity.

It just “barked” again.  I am in Hell…

Leave a Reply

