Parenting

What I Noticed Today is…the Kids are Probably Too Old for Easter Baskets

Easter Baskets 2014What I noticed today is that the kids are probably too old for Easter baskets.  My husband and I are awake and nearly finished with our first cups of coffee and there’s not been a peep (I had to!) from the children.  While I type this, I am staring at 80,000 calories of sweets, and yet my children continue to slumber.

A couple years ago, the girls used to raid their baskets, and search for the eggs the Easter bunny left behind in the dark.  Yes, it was still dark outside–they were that excited.  Not anymore.  It is not only already light but the birds have been singing for quite a while, and I think the sprinklers have run.

Do you think they’ll notice if I eat one of their candies with my coffee?  There truly is nothing better than a Hershey’s chocolate egg with a steaming hot cup of coffee.  And then maybe a Reese’s peanut butter cup, and then a malted milk egg, and then…??  They better get downstairs quick before I eat everything the bunny left behind.

I think I may have to finally admit that the girls are growing up, and leave the purchasing of plastic orbs to the young moms.

Happy Easter to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

