Alternative Therapies · Diet · Food

‘Grape Expectations’ Grapely Exceeds My Predictions

Green Goodness aka Grape Expectations
Green Goodness aka Grape Expectations

Some time in the late summer, I bought a Breville juicer and I made juice daily for about a week, and then I stuck the juicer in storage and promptly forgot about it until just yesterday when I decided I was going to do a juice cleanse.  I had purchased the book detox juicing by Morena Escardo and Morena Cuadra back when I first purchased the juicer but when the juicer was put away, so was the book.

On Sunday, while everyone else was watching football and eating chips, salsa, wings, and fried potato foodstuffs, I was planning a three day juice cleanse.  I looked up the menu at the end of the book and chose which group of juices I would need to buy for based on the fact that it’s Fall (even when it’s 80 degrees, it’s considered Fall).  The book has 3 Day, 7 Day, and 14 Day cleanses where the authors tell you exactly what juices to drink.  The only thing that is annoying is that the page numbers for the recipes are not provided on the menu page so I had to keep going from the menu page to the index and then finally to the recipe to see what ingredients I needed to purchase.

Truth be told, I am seeing a friend I haven’t seen in over 20 years on Friday so I’m not exactly looking to get healthy all of a sudden, I’m really searching for a way to lose 10 lbs really super fast.  I am sure I won’t do it by Friday but I’m going to give it the ole college try!  I’d be happy with losing what looks like 10 lbs. of belly bloat.

To test my resolve, Ms Escardo and Ms Cuadra make the first juice of the day one in which I blend up an avocado and mix it grapes, parsley and a lemon.  Sounds sketchy, doesn’t it?  And I love avocado!  I usually have avocado with chips, however, not all blended up and looking so goopy and green.

I was starving this morning and was wondering if this week was going to really work out for me to do a juice cleanse but I decided to push my nervous Nelly self aside and make the juice with the avocado–see how I felt after the first sip.  It looked very green and not so much like a juice I could imagine myself drinking.  Imagine being six-years-old again with spinach shoved in your face by a loving parent.  I had the same reaction.  I looked at it like it was a green monster seen on Halloween night.

The juice looked more like a pudding in the glass which made it even more disconcerting.  I considered using a spoon but decided a straw might make me see less of what I was drinking.  A spoon is a large serving to find in one’s mouth compared to what can be pulled through a straw.

The first sip?  It was absolutely delicious.  It was so smooth, so creamy, so unbelievably GREAT!!  I could not believe it.  I drank the whole thing and then went and topped my cup off from what was remaining in the Nutribullet.

One of my friends told me she had made some amazing chocolate pudding with avocado that was so delicious her son licked the bowl clean.  I didn’t believe her at the time but now I do.  The avocado didn’t taste like avocado.  The grapes and the lemon overpowered the avocado’s flavor.

I will definitely make this juice again from detox juicing even though it required two appliances to make:  the Breville juice extractor and the Nutribullet.

The next juice on my list for today is Green is In and although the ingredients seem pretty normal, it’s still green.  I’ll let you know if the six-year-old me is right about the taste or more ecstatically wrong.

 

Leave a Reply

