Writing

Not Everything Has to be Shakespeare

New Year’s resolutions come and go.  By February, they’re more a glimmer than a shine.  Most people don’t even remember what they vowed to do and I can say the same thing about myself.  I remember last year’s resolution to see more sunsets (didn’t happen) but none of the years before that.

This year, I’ve vowed to write one blog post per week.  I haven’t been this dedicated in the past but this year is different especially after taking an online course called the Fear of Writing.  Although I write often, it’s without much consistency and it turns out I had a fear, or many fears and they appear to be gone now whether it’s a temporary fix or not, I don’t know.

One of the fears I had was that everything I wrote had to be good before I would hit the publish button.  And if it wasn’t where I wanted it to be, I simply let it sit in drafts.  I’m afraid to see how many paragraphs I’ve written that haven’t seen the light of day.

Another fear was that it had to be long and if I couldn’t produce somewhere around 350+ words, then the subject probably wasn’t worth writing about.  I’m not sure where that expectation came from but it was there.  Again, check my drafts folder.

I frequently thought that I didn’t have anything to write about.  Never mind I have thousands of thoughts all day long in my brain but didn’t take a minute to write any down?

According to the Fear of Writing course owner, Milli, there are many ways in which to conquer the fear of writing but the one that has stuck with me is the “it doesn’t have to be literature” and another is “sometimes you don’t even have to finish.”  Hmmm….I wrote so many pieces for Milli that were utter garbage and it was freeing.  There was another time when I couldn’t quite find an ending.  She told me to just post it ‘as-is’ and I did and I didn’t die.

Because of the 8 week class, I’m going to make it a part of my New Year’s Resolution–to write a blog post a week even if it stinks.  I can’t always be profound.  I can always be deep, but I can always be making progress.

Happy New Year to you.  Here’s hoping you find what you are meant to do and just do it whether it’s badly, well, perfectly, embarrassingly poor, or just good enough to please you.  As for me, I’m pushing publish without even checking for typos.  I’m such a daredevil!

Leave a Reply

