Non-Toxic Product Search

Smelling Purdy in My Pits

I’m spending this overcast, June Gloom San Diego morning looking for deodorant that won’t give me cancer.  I’ve been using deodorant since I was in 5th or 6th grade, and since I’m very far north of 10 years old, I’m hoping that the damage hasn’t already been done.

Going back and forth between Thrive Market which has insanely great prices on items (didn’t know this before) and the EWG Skin Deep Website website to see how toxic one deodorant is compared to another.  If you’ve never heard of Thrive, here’s what they are about, “Thrive is a membership community that uses the power of direct buying to deliver the world’s best healthy food and natural products to our members at wholesale prices and to sponsor free Thrive memberships for low-income American families.”

The first strike out is Weleda products which rates anywhere from a 4 to a whopping 7 on the EWG’s website.  Anything rated 7-10 is in the High Risk category. Yikes!  What is this company’s products doing on Thrive Markets website?

Tom’s of Maine rates a 1-4 on the EWG site which is better than Weleda but I want a zero risk!  But I also want the product to work, so there’s where I may have some difficulty.

Shoot.  The deodorant I was using but gave to my daughter to use made by Neal’s Yard Organics deodorant has an overall rating of a 4 which is a moderate hazard but also includes one ingredient that is a 5.  Crud.  I was going to make them the go-to place to buy my body products but not any longer.

So far I have two strikes and a maybe.

A promising candidate just reared its beautiful head–it’s called Thai Crystal Deodorant Mist, and at $3.95 it seems to be a steal.  I priced it at Amazon.com and it’s about a $1 more for non-Prime and $4.04 more for Prime.  With Thrive Market, I just need to spend $49 to get free shipping so it makes sense to buy the Thai Crystal Deodorant from Thrive.  Thai Crystal Deodorant Mist also has a huge number of positive ratings both on Amazon.com and a few on Thrive.

I’m still searching for a 0 rating so I’ll keep the Thai Crystal Deodorant on the short list.

Strike 3 comes from Kiss My Face.  Kiss My Face has a certain appeal because one can locate this brand anywhere, however, the deodorant I was looking at is a 4 on the EWG site.  I am avoiding lavender because it is a phytoestrogen (who knew?) and someone with a breast cancer risk should avoid lavender products.

After striking out on the majority of products for controlling smelly pits on Thrive Market’s website, I’m going with the Thai Crystal Deodorant Mist.  It’s salt-free, soy-free, paraben free, antibiotic and hormone-free, and has all-natural ingredients.  I’ll let you know if it works.  As a super sweater, I used to use the Super Clinical Strength.  It’s rated a 4 which isn’t too bad since some of the organic products are rated similarly.

And now off to do more shopping on Thrive in order to get the free shipping!

 

Leave a Reply

