Friends · Modern Life

Friendship May Get Trumped by Politics

Trump aka The Donald
Trump aka The Donald

Saturday night I went out to hang with friends.  These are friends I’ve known for a very long time and have a great history with them.  Sure, they’re neighbors and I don’t see them as often as I’d like (my fault–my introversion keeps me from seeking anyone from the outside very often) but I thought I knew them.  I thought we were all alike with how we think but it turns out I was wrong.

Don’t get me wrong, we all agreed that we didn’t want another mall built but one of us LIKES Trump (hint: it’s not me). How can that be?  And this Trump supporter is a woman.  I don’t get it.  She said, “He tells it like it is.”  Really?  So what he said about Hispanics and captured Vets is right?  How about what he thinks of women?  He’s an absolute pig and a pot stirrer, he is not presidential material.

God knows that politics and friendships don’t mix so maybe I will let the fact that we have two different viewpoints go and never, ever bring up elections again otherwise I will have to distance myself.

I don’t normally leave someone in the dust if he/she and I have different ideas about things but Trump is a special case, a mental case in fact.  Who could possibly take him seriously?  If you have half a brain, you’d look at him for what he really is–a misogynistic, racist, entitled ‘good ole boy.’  Sure I’d want him on my team for a reality show but not for real life!

Have you ever ended a friendship or a romantic relationship over differing political leanings?  I’d love to hear about it!

 

Leave a Reply

