Product Recommendations

Finally Got Me Some Balls

Molly's Suds Dryer Balls FrontI went to ShiftCon way back in September and some of what I learned actually stuck. What is ShiftCon, you’re wondering?  Let me tell you in what I hope will amount to one or two sentences but trust me when I say it’s so much more than that.  It’s a conference where like-minded people gather to learn about products that are not only healthy but not harmful.  Companies allowed to attend and share their wares are those that don’t use GMOs, chemicals, artificial anything, and are environmentally conscious.  What I liked about the conference (beyond learning so much) is that the vendors weren’t all ‘crunchy’–they had style and I don’t think I saw a single pair of Birkenstocks!

One such company I saw at ShiftCon was Molly’s Suds.  I was intrigued the moment I saw the wool dryer balls.  Honestly, I didn’t think they would work but that’s my natural skepticism kicking in.

I didn’t bring any dryer balls home from the conference, although I’m sure I was offered some kind of coupon to try them for free, but I kept the dryer balls at the back of my mind for seven months.  Yes, I also think it’s unusual to think about dryer balls for seven months, but that’s the way my mind works.

Finally, a few weeks ago, I saw a few products from a competitor of Molly’s Suds at my local Target and decided it was time go home and order some of my own dryer balls from Thrive dot com.

It’s hard to buy something for the dryer that costs $14.95 but when I read that the three balls will handle 1000 loads, I did the math.  It’s $10.99 for a box of 160 Bounce fabric sheets, so I would have to buy 6 1/4 boxes of Bounce to get the same number of loads out of my Molly’s Suds laundry balls.  That means a savings of $53.74.  Although that won’t make or break most people, it still is cheaper and it’s much better for the environment.  That’s 1000 dryer sheets that won’t go to the landfill.

And let’s not forget all the pollutants I’m not spewing into the air.  Dryer sheets perfume the entire outdoors; I can smell them as I pass by a house while out walking my dog, Pearl.  There’s got to be a bazillion (technical term) chemicals in those things to keep your clothes smelling ‘fresh’ for days and weeks! (NOTE: after writing this, I looked up the chemicals in dryer sheets and was shocked.  Molly’s Suds has garnered a lifetime consumer and fan!  You can read about what’s in your dryer sheet here.)

The wool balls have no scent but it says on the package that adding essential oils is ok to do.  I have been adding about 5 drops of essential oils to each of my Molly’s Suds balls so I get to decide what my clothes smell like.  Because I have so many essential oils on hand (I buy mine from Ancient Wisdom), the fragrance can change from load to load.  I’ve chosen lavender for the last couple of loads because it’s pretty innocuous.  Nobody has said a word yet about their clothes smelling funny or bad.  This is progress in my house!

The bottom line is I’m impressed with Molly’s wool dryer balls and I highly recommend you buy them not only for the cost savings but also the savings to the environment, and more importantly, the health of you and your family.

To buy Molly’s Suds products, you can purchase them online at Molly’s Suds dot com or you can buy them through Thrive dot com for $14.95.  If you spend more than $49, the shipping is free and there are so many cool things to buy from Thrive.  I also love their store brand marinara sauce but that’s a post for another time!

Pros of Using Molly’s Suds Dryer Balls

  • Cheaper than dryer sheets so you’ll save money
  • Can last up to 3 years so you won’t need to remember to buy dryer sheets for a long time!
  • Drying time is reduced so you’ll save time AND more money
  • Can be used in all loads–delicates, towels, jeans, etc.
  • You can pick your own fragrance–combine the essential oils for a custom scent (live a little in your laundry room!)
  • Better for the environment
  • Better for your family’s health
  • Biodegradable
  • Compostable

Cons of Using Molly’s Suds Dryer Balls

  • They’re a little loud as they go ’round and ’round but it’s a small price to pay for all the benefits!

Do your regular dryer sheets have any benefits?  Probably not like the impressive list of Molly’s Wool Dryer Balls.  Give them one chance and you’ll never go back to the sheet.

Molly's Suds Wool Dryer Balls Back

 

 

3 thoughts on “Finally Got Me Some Balls

  1. Nice to see you again! I don’t own a dryer (nor washing machine at the moment, but that’s another story), so I won’t need to buy anything like this, but I did use a friend’s dryer once and wasn’t impressed at all. Maybe they’d just need Molly’s balls *laughing*

    1. Thank you. It’s good to be (mostly) back. My house has somewhat calmed down so I *should* start getting into the swing of things again. I love that site you sent to me “Live to Write — Write to Live” because it’s given me lots to think about while I figure out how to write with a bunch of workmen running around and I need quiet to write.

      Ugh. But everything should be back to normal soon.

      Having traveled in Europe, and using what is passing as a dryer, I can’t imagine you would be impressed with your friend’s dryer. You must come to the U.S. and, if you do anything, you have to wash a load of clothes–a huge load and then dry it in a Maytag or a Whirlpool dryer. A load of 15 towels takes an hour to dry.

      While in England, we had access to a washer and a dryer in the house we were renting and it took me ALL DAY LONG to do my family’s washing. Partly because the dryer needed to be emptied of water all the time and partly because each load took nearly three hours to dry. I couldn’t believe it! I had to get down on my hands and knees to pull out the tank and then empty it every other load.

      Although I loved traveling in Europe, I didn’t love the clothes washing options. And in the Paris apartment, we had access to the tiniest washer/dryer combo I’ve ever seen! It was so complicated, I gave up and we wore dirty clothes the rest of our trip. Le sigh.

      Who knew I had so much passion for washing and drying clothes??

Leave a Reply

