Holidays

Happy 4th of July

34537582 - group of people waving armenian flags in back lit
Land of the Free

This 4th of July seems more special than any other to me, and I think it’s because my family and I are not leaving the country for our annual family vacation.

I chose to stay here in the U.S. because of all the bombings and terror threats in other countries.  I realize that many of my friends are in other parts of the world right now (Italy, South Africa, Costa Rica, and Switzerland) and they’re all safe but they’re not worrywarts like me.  I know me well enough to know that I would spend the entire vacation wondering if this was the last time I would buy groceries, take a picture, hang out with my girls.  Every single unexpected noise would send my heart dangerously into heart attack land.

I’m very happy to have the choice to stay in the U.S.  Feeling safe in one’s own country seems like it should be everyone’s right.  Unfortunately that’s not the case.  Nearly every single day it seems I wake up to more news about bombings and terror threats in various parts of the world.  I cry for the loss of life, the loss of promising futures, and the loss of safety.

While you’re out this 4th of July celebrating with friends, family, neighbors, and new friends, take a moment to reflect on the greatness of this country and all that we have here.  Sure, it’s sometimes a huge pain in the ass to get through the TSA lines, the lines to check bags at Disneyland, Knottsberry Farm, and all the museums in Washington DC, but it’s for a good reason–to keep us safe and alive another day.

Happy 4th of July to you and yours.

 

Leave a Reply

