Facebook · Modern Life · Opinion Piece · Stress Reduction

TTFN Facebook

Should I stay or should I go now?
Should I stay or should I go now?

Two weeks ago Wednesday, I deleted my Facebook account.  I waited to tell the world of my new status to make sure that the deletion would stick.  How embarrassing is it to delete your Facebook/Twitter/Instagram/Tumblr, tell everybody how you did it cold turkey, and then be back on it within three days?

I was staying connected to the social media site because well, I have friends (or so I thought), family, colleagues, and old high school friends on Facebook.  I thought by leaving, I wasn’t really leaving behind a behemoth website but all my friends.  I took a social media site and made it personal which is Facebook’s goal.  Before they “let” you leave, they show who will miss you while you’re gone which is funny because only one person has contacted me and asked me where I went.  One person.  Goes to show that either people don’t notice or they don’t care.

Thinking about this all the way through, I realized that Facebook was giving me almost zero pleasure but was taking up about an hour a day, every day.  It was sucking the life out of me.  Facebook was making me feel worse rather than better, and this was all before learning they’re into experimenting on their most vulnerable subscribers!

All that time on Facebook translates to 7 hours per week (let’s be honest, it’s probably more like 14) and 365 (730?) hours per year.  What can I accomplish if I write for an hour each day for my blog?  What if I used all that time for exercise and healthy meal preparation?  Getting manicures?  Massages?  Maybe I’d finally have the time to write the book that I’ve been meaning to get to for years?

The final straw in the camel’s back (don’t worry, the camel still updates his Facebook status regularly) was an article I read by Dr. Fuhrman about how long it takes to break a bad habit.  Apparently, after 66 days I will no longer desire being on Facebook.  And I think it’s already working.  I don’t feel any need to get back on, and I know that if I do, I will find the same things posted day after day, week after week, year after year.

And bonus?  You won’t have to listen to me rant about what I just read on Facebook anymore.

Leave a Reply

