Food · Friends · Holidays · Modern Life

Not the Cornhole Queen This Year

IMG_7189Well, I did my best but my best wasn’t good enough.  I am not the Cornhole Queen of the Cul-de-Sac, 2017.  Turns out there are some serious Cornhole pros on my cul-de-sac.  I’m a newcomer to the game (I practiced a total of 3 times prior to the event) but some of the contestants had obviously been playing the game for years.  Maybe they even grew up with this game back in their home state of Ohio!

My Cornhole game arrived on a Friday and I was supposed to practice for 9 days straight but reality hits and I got in 3 games–of which precisely 0 were regulation distance apart. IMG_7190

What I got out of the Cornhole game was I had a lot of fun.  I don’t normally play any games, especially not in public, but this time I went out of my comfort zone and played.  And guess what?  Nothing bad happened.  Sure, I was taken out earlyish but so were many others.  What’d we do?  We got back to our wine and our crawfish.  No harm done.

IMG_7188
My very first crayfish boil courtesy of Anita and Jared–so tasty!

This year I barely earned a participant ribbon so my goal for 2018 is to be the Cornhole Queen.  I like even numbers better anyway 🙂  Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Not the Cornhole Queen This Year

  1. So glad you had a good time anyways! That’s more important, since this way you know you’ll have fun when you try again next year – and maybe are even more motivated to practice until them 🙂

Leave a comment