Malls · Parenting · Parents · Party Dress · Prom · Prom Dress · Shopping · Special Occasion

How Much Does It Cost to Feel Pretty?

My daughter is going to her boyfriend’s prom in less than 2 weeks.  They have been dating for 10 months which is a long time in teen years (just like dogs, you must multiply the actual time by 7).  Anyway, she dragged him along shopping for a prom dress yesterday.  The day started out wonderfully as the boyfriend (BF) sent me a picture of my daughter in a beautiful dress that cost only $40.  Cool.  I definitely don’t mind spending $40 on a dress that will be worn 1 time.  And, literally, it will only be worn 1 time because her sisters are a lot younger than she is, so there will not be an opportunity for handmedowns.  Then came the next dress at $69.  Also a beautiful dress and with even some sparkle on it.  I love sparkles, so I was particularly happy to buy a dress with a little pizazz (is that an old lady word??).  Then, the final picture arrives on my cell phone with my daughter in a very pretty dress but now it’s at $150.  Not so sure about $150 for a dress that will be worn for 1 night.  Not to mention that she’ll need shoes, a bag, earrings and a bracelet to match, her eyebrows done, a mani, a pedi, and I have already paid for her ticket and the party bus.  I can hear this all adding up loud and clear!

Did my daughter and her BF commit the fatal sales error of showing me the low-cost dress first??  Or am I just being cheap?  I want her to look and (more importantly) feel beautiful, but is this what it costs to feel pretty these days?  I put the same question on my Facebook page and one of my friends said to expect to pay between $300 and $800.  You have got to be kidding me!  It’s a prom, for Pete’s sake, not a wedding!!

So, what do you think?  Should I suck it up and pay the $150?

Leave a Reply

